A Trip to the Windy City

By Austin

While most college students headed to the Florida for spring break, Bradford and I (plus three of our friends) crammed ourselves into my car and drove to one of my favorite cities, Chicago. We thought that we would share our favorites parts about the trip in case any of you were planning to go to Chicago at some point in the future!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

 

First off, we stayed in an adorable little Airbnb in West Chicago. The best part: they had a yoga room with a swing in it. A SWING. How cute is that? I would definitely recommend staying in an Airbnb if you are visiting a new city, as opposed to a hotel. It tends to be cheaper and gives you more of a local experience. Your hosts will most likely have recommendations for good restaurants, coffee shops, and things to do as well.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

A majority of our time was spent doing touristy things, like seeing the Bean in Millennium Park, going to Navy Pier, and eating Chicago-style pizza and hotdogs. Bradford and two of our friends hadn’t done these things before, and despite how cliche they are, you have to do the tourist activities at least once. Even though I lived in Chicago for a couple months during a summer internship, I can still appreciate the skyline view from Navy Pier (pictured below).

IMG_4233

Another huge part of going to any big city is finding the best coffee shops. Bradford and I are both avid coffee drinkers, so we were determined to find a great local place, and we did just that. Dollop Coffee Co. was a great coffee shop we found, and I couldn’t resist taking a picture of my latte with one of their many plant decorations. 10/10 would recommend this place.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

 

The rest of our time we spent shopping (duh). Bradford and I spend an embarrassing amount of time shopping and this trip was no exception. We went to one of my favorite shopping areas ever: the Magnificent Mile. This is the most well-known shopping area in Chicago, and they have literally every one of my favorite stores, from Zara to Topman to Lush. I may have spent a little too much money…it’s fine.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

 

Now to perhaps the most important aspect of any trip: FOOD. Anyone that knows me knows I love to eat, and we found some amazing restaurants in Chicago. Our unanimous favorite was a recommendation from one of my local friends (thanks Drew). Taco Joint is hands down the best Mexican restaurant I have ever been to. If you ever go, you MUST get the Al Pastor taco. Honestly, incredible. We also went to a great Chinese place in Chinatown called Lao Beijing. This place was super authentic and delicious.

Well I just realized that this post is getting pretty long, so I’ll cut it off here. If you have ever been to Chicago, leave a comment below telling us one of your favorite parts about the city!

Leave a Reply

