February: Monthly Must-Haves

On the first of every month, we’re going to be giving you all the run-down on our latest favorites. This could be recent books we’ve read, products we’ve tried, apps we’ve grown to like, etc. Whatever the category, these lists are meant to help you make the most out of your month and to save you the work of having to test certain products for yourself.


Bradford’s Must-Haves

Shoes – Nike Tennis Classic CS Casual (White)

dsc_0637

The all-white sneaker has become a major staple in the modern wardrobe. I knew this for a while, but I was extremely skeptical of buying a pair for a long time. First of all, because I was worried I’d look as basic as the group of girls in the recent viral pic where they’re all standing in line wearing Adidas Stan Smith sneakers. More importantly, however, I was worried about having to embrace the full-time job you have to take on to keep them clean. I’ve owned white tennis shoes before and I know how it goes. They’re trashed within six months, no matter how hard you try to take care of them. I saw these on sale at Finish Line, however, and I thought, “Why the hell not?” They were regularly-priced at $79.99 but were discounted at $34.99. After purchasing them and feeding my online shopping addiction, however, I noticed that they were incredibly easy to clean. The premium leather wipes easily and doesn’t seem to cling to any dirt. So far, cleaning has been minimal and my satisfaction is a lot higher than I expected. They’re no longer on sale, but you can still purchase them from Finish Line at the full $79.99 price.


App – Plant Nanny

DSC_0638.jpg

Drinking water is one of the most important (not to mention one of the easiest) things you can do to help your body. Benefits of drinking enough water (about 2 liters or half a gallon) range from weight loss to improved mood to healthier skin…and that’s just the tip of the iceberg. Plant Nanny helps you keep track of how much water you’re drinking daily. But wait…THERE’S MORE! An added bonus is that every time you log that you’ve drank some water, you’re simultaneously watering a virtual plant in the app. You can grow dandelions, cacti, and much more! Notification reminders help you to stay on target with your H20 goals and help you develop your virtual green thumb all at the same time.


Book – Then We Came to the End

dsc_0644

It’s rare to find a book that makes the mundane come alive. Then We Came to the End, however, does just that. Written by Joshua Ferris, this book deals with the everyday humdrum of the typical work environment. Ferris has a beautiful writing style and a spectacularly crafted, comedic tone that leaves your emotions all over the place (in a good way). The biggest takeaway from the book, at least for me, seems to be that no matter how much time you spend with someone, you never really fully know them. This idea is both extremely comforting and remarkably terrifying. You can purchase the book online at Amazon for fairly cheap, but I bought mine from Half-Priced Books for less than two dollars.

 

Austin’s Must-Haves 

Skincare – Burt’s Bees Oil Face Cleanser

DSC_0681.jpg

Let’s be honest, a beautiful complexion is something we all strive for. I’ve tried several different products in my search for the perfect skin care routine, and this product has quickly become one of my favorites. I’ve always been a huge fan of any Burt’s Bees product I’ve used, and the oil face cleanser is no exception.

This cleanser is made with coconut and argan oils that remove dirt, makeup, and anything else that may clog your pores and moisturize your skin at the same time. A lot of people are skeptical of using oils as a facial cleanser, because of the common misconception that this will further clog your pores. However, natural oils are necessary for skin health, and this product is specifically made to moisturize and leave no oil excess on normal to dry skin. For people with oily skin, I would recommend a product that is more clarifying.

Every time I use this product, I am amazed by how soft and glowing it leaves my skin. In all honesty, I cannot find a flaw in this cleanser. Even better, you can find the Burt’s Bees Oil Face Cleanser at Walmart, Target, and most stores that sell makeup or beauty products for about $15. Long story short, this product is a great addition to your skincare routine.

Food – Halo Top Ice Cream

halotop

A healthier version of ice cream. Enough said. I have yet to comprehend how this low-calorie creation can taste just as good as the most popular ice cream brands that are packed with more sugar and more calories. Especially for people with an insatiable sweet tooth like me, the wide range of Halo Top ice cream flavors are a dream come true. It’s only downfall is that it is more expensive than a typical pint of ice cream. But in my opinion, it’s completely worth it.

Leave a Reply

